Legislators Honor Gift-of-Life Marathon Record

09 April 2014

MONTPELIER, VT – Thousands of people donated blood at the Gift-of-Life Marathon in December – and on Wednesday the 180-member Vermont House and Senate honored them with a joint resolution.

Rutland’s annual blood drive collected a whopping 2,350 pints of blood Dec. 17, smashing the one-day national record of 1,968 pints, and creating a flood of goodwill that carried into the House Chamber Wednesday morning.

The resolution included praise for the City of Rutland and Rutland Town, the American Red Cross, and organizers Green Mountain Power, Castleton College and WJJR.  It also highlighted the collaboration of donation sites including the Paramount Theatre, College of St. Joseph, American Legion, Elks Club and Holiday Inn.

The annual Gift-of-Life Marathon has become a holiday phenomenon over the last 10 years, inspiring a documentary film, “The Blood in This Town,” breaking New England records three times, and recording the first, third- and fourth-largest blood collections in American history.

The 2012 GOLM was almost the last “super drive” of this kind, as the enormity of the event, which collected less than 400 pints in its first year, became a multi-site logistical challenge for organizers and the Red Cross.  The Red Cross agreed to hold one last record-breaking attempt in December after the GOLM came just 13 pints shy of the national record in 2012.

Original organizers at GMP and WJJR were joined by Castleton College for the record-breaking event, and together the three lead sponsors marshaled an extensive public information campaign and an army of volunteers and donors to break the record.

The resolution was authored by Rutland County legislators and sponsored by Representatives Tom Terenzini of Rutland Town, Tom Burditt of West Rutland, William Canfield of Fair Haven, Lawrence Cupoli of Rutland City, Peter Fagan of Rutland City, Douglas Gage of Rutland City, Anne Gallivan of Chittenden, Robert Helm of Fair Haven, John Malcolm of Pawlet, David Potter of Clarendon, Herb Russell of Rutland City, Charles Shaw of Pittsford, Stephen Beyor of Highgate, Carolyn Branagan of Georgia, Patrick Brennan of Colchester, Brian Campion of Bennington, Stephen Carr of Brandon, Leigh Dakin of Chester, David Deen of Westminster, Dennis Devereux of Mount Holly, Eileen Dickinson of St. Albans Town, Andrew Donaghy of Poultney, Charles Goodwin of Weston, Michael Hebert of Vernon, Mark Huntley of Cavendish, Bernard Juskiewicz of Cambridge, Robert Krebs of South Hero, Leigh Larocque of Barnet, Patti Lewis of Berlin, James McCullough of Williston, John Mitchell of Fairfax, Anne Mook of Bennington, Mary Morrissey of Bennington, Linda Myers of Essex, Albert Pearce of Richford, Constance Quimby of Concord, Heidi Scheuermann of Stowe, William Stevens of Shoreham, Vicki Strong of Albany, Donna Sweaney of Windsor, Warren Van Wyck of Ferrisburgh, and Kathryn Webb of Shelburne, and Senators Peg Flory, Eldridge French, Kevin Mullin, Joseph Benning, Ann Cummings, William Doyle, Richard Mazza, and Anthony Pollina.

About Green Mountain Power
Green Mountain Power (www.greenmountainpower.com) generates, transmits, distributes and sells electricity in the state of Vermont. The company, which was named 2014 Solar Champion by Vote Solar, serves more than 250,000 customers and has set its vision to be the best small company in America. 

 Contact: Steve Costello - (802) 793-4031